top of page
Search
Writer's pictureJ.C. Bridgewater

Spark of Hope #15 - "Am I Too Young?"

Hey and welcome to the Spark of Hope Blog! Recently I was scrolling the internet researching stuff about how to start and lead a youth lead worship team. During this research session I came across a article that almost literally made my blood BOIL! Let me paint this picture for you. This 13-14 year old girl put out a post that said "I am feeling gifted in leading others in worship and I was wondering if anyone had any advice on how to get others to join me in leading worship" and Im thinking "Aw this is so awesome, people may come to Christ from this person who is willing to stand up" like literally that is what I thought...Until I saw something else.

This, I wanna say, 30-40 year old "worship pastor" (the quotes are there because I am not going to recognize that he is a worship pastor after this) replied by saying "I think it is a horrible idea for someone like you to lead others in worship". Just that part right there got me ticked, but it got better "Because you are too young, and a girl". If you know me personally you know that I cracked my knuckles and got ready to reply to this idiot, young authors and worship leaders are my people, and you don't mess with my people! Yet, before I could say anything to this the girl replied back "Really? you can't lead worship as a girl?". Now I am rethinking what Im going to say and the guy replies "No, leading as a girl insults God, also you are too young, you must have a degree to lead worship".

I said a little prayer and replied "Hey, before you believe him, hear me out. Timothy 4:12 states "Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith and in purity". Then of course this idiot replied saying "But that is for people who can really lead". So at this point I asked the girl to DM (Direct Message) me so that way the guy couldn't say anything else to dampen her dreams.

She did and we started talking about how to lead worship. Eventually I said something that even though I was the one who said it, its still echoing in my head. I said "As long as you are following God honestly and whole-heartedly, and going to Him about EVERYTHING then it doesn't matter your age or gender God will be honored that you want to worship Him and encourage others to do so as well!". I also mentioned something that was introduced to me from one of the teachers from the studio that I learn guitar from. He said "whenever leading, servant leadership should be your best and biggest quality, the best leaders are the hardest workers". All-in-all no matter your age, gender, or ethnicity, if you follow God and believe in Him you can lead others in Worship!


Anyways, until next time, God bless


J.C. Bridgewater

94:18 Christian Studios

9418studios@gmail.com

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Spark of Hope Blog #31-- BGP

Hello and welcome to the 94:18 Spark of Hope Blog! Today we are discussing Big Godly People; who they are and how they affect you....

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page